Capeward Bound II: Attack of the Bird Bloggers

When I wheedled and cajoled the nice folks at CMBO into letting me attend Autumn Weekend and The Bird Show, I was blissfully unaware that my blogger buddy Birdchick had been scheming since August to get all the attending bloggers together for the first-ever Bird Blogger Conference. And since some of us shyer types need the help of a social director, Sharon will also be hosting a “Birds and Beers” on Friday night, October 26, 2007 at 8pm at the Jackson Mountain Cafe.

My last (and also first) encounter with the Birdchick was at the 2005 ABA convention in Tucson, where she was blogging from a couch in the lobby of the Doubletree Hotel. Unfortunately, she had to leave the convention early and missed the wild karaoke party at the Javelina Cantina. No excuses this time, not if I have anything to say about it. And since I broke down and invested in a new laptop with wireless Internet capability, maybe I’ll follow Sharon’s example and blog during brief breaks from the Cape May festivities.

2 thoughts on “Capeward Bound II: Attack of the Bird Bloggers

  1. Did you say “some us shyer types”? I didn’t get that from you at Birds & Beers. :) It was nice meeting you there, although I don’t know if we “officially” greeted each other. I remember you used to be on the “Birdforum” on gardenweb a few years ago.

  2. Dang! Sorry we missed chatting, Patrick, but as you well know it was pretty chaotic that evening at the summit of Jackson Mountain. And a $9 ice cream cocktail is bound to loosen the old inhibitions somewhat. ;) I bailed on GardenWeb after the AdWords fiasco – if someone’s going to sell something I wrote for advertising, they’d better by golly cut me in on the profits.

Add your comment or question